equal4all

Author Perry Moore and the Entire GLBT Community Needs YOU!

In Art, Being Gay, Dating, Gay Business, Gay Celebrity, Gay Weddings, Literature, Relationships, television on June 25, 2009 at 1:34 pm

HERO

Dear friends,

Many of you may not know this, but author Perry Moore (Executive Producer of the Narnia films) has just completed the pilot script of the television rendition of his amazingly well put-together, and ground-breaking book HERO.

As Moore and his team await the green light from the ultra-talented, and gay President of Showtime, Robert Greenblatt, the power truly lies in you to make things happen. It would be ever so generous on your end to take the time and write Mr. Greenblatt a note explaining that a show like HERO does not come along every day, and that this is something you are ALL eagerly hoping to see as a series on Showtime. Unfortunately, the network has lost trailblazing shows such as Queer as Folk and the L-Word, which have done wonders for our community; but let’s face it, the network could use a little more queer representation!

Perry Moore, in a personal e-mail states, “Here is a totally new take for the next generation! All you have to do is Google the official Showtime site, and write him a brief letter that states your hopes and dreams to see the show on air. Now is do or die time … he’ll decide in the next few weeks!”

So please take 5 minutes out of your busy schedules, put the Pride plans on hold for 30 seconds, and make sure your voice is heard – together, we can make a difference!

On behalf of Perry Moore, the GLBT community, and myself,

Thank you!

J. Federico and the E4A team

Read Perry Moore’s interview here

  1. I can’t even express how excited I would be to see a TV show based on HERO. I don’t get Showtime, but I would buy the DVDs. I suspect it would be a word-of-mouth-based hit if given the chance.

  2. I just posted this on Perry’s website, I think it is pretty fitting for this too:

    What an amazing book. I go to El Camino College in Torrance California and your book is required reading for my Critical Thinking course. I guess the faculty really knows what they’re doing when they decide on course material. I couldn’t put HERO down. It killed my weekend, but I finished it in 2 days, (5 weeks before my paper on it is due) and today I have been going through it on my breaks between classes rereading some of my favorite parts. You wrote a fantastic novel that utterly captivated me.

    I have never read a book that I could identify with as much as I did with HERO. It reminded me of my first boyfriend – we met on a soccer team when we were kids. The awkwardness Thom and his Dad endured was right on the spot too. Even the laptop fiasco was strangely reminiscent of a similar experience I had lol. It honestly brings a smile to my face that so many people are reading this book, and are getting a first person perspective on finding yourself when most people see you as “different”. I’m going to love the group discussions in class, I can’t wait.

    Okay so the gay subject aside, what amazing Hero’s! I have been super hero junkie for as long as I can remember; comic cards, books, action figures, cartoons, movies, you name it. This is seriously some Grade-A action. I would love to see these guys kicking butt on TV! I loved the characters, the powers, the way you made it so clear that they’re still people… flaws and all. I could go on and on, I really can’t say enough good things about this book!

    I look forward to reading more of your work and seeing your characters come to life on Showtime!!!!

    Your newest fan,
    Bryan Joelson
    Los Angeles, CA

  3. Hey all, I’m a personal friend of Perry and at this time showtime is probably not going to happen but, logo is looking at taking it on for their MAD MEN.

    It is very close to going through, they have three canadian companies very interested in the production.

    Please write logo in NY, everything from how much you love the book,

    Please Write to

    Chris Willey
    Logo Networks
    1540 Broadway
    New York, NY10019

    and

    Van Toffler
    Logo Networks
    1540 Broadway
    New York, NY10019

Leave a Reply

