equal4all

A Chat with Greenview Marketing!

In Being Gay, Gay Business, Gay NYC, NYC on October 16, 2009 at 7:40 pm

ecofriendly

Equal4all had a great opportunity to catch-up with Bryan Ruiz, manager of all design, web, and marketing efforts for Greenview Marketing. Mr. Ruiz and his business partner, Joe Lontos, have a keen eye for “going green,” and share thoughts on tricks of the trade; they even tell us their plans for the future and what it’s like overall being eco-friendly!

Equal4all: How did you begin to build the foundation of your business with the idea of being “green” and how do you express that through your work?

Bryan Ruiz: I started to live a more eco-friendly lifestyle when I was in college. I began reading more and more about the environment and its future in regards to depleting resources and the change in climate over time. I took a step back and realized changes I needed to make to “do my part.” I began to recycle, walk more (which was easy in a college town), take public transportation and be more conservative in my home life such as shorter showers and turning the lights off when I leave a room.

My work has been no different. I have researched many ways that I could preserve resources without compromising the quality of my design and work. Some of these things include using less colors and full bleeds when I design. This helps conserve ink and paper. I al use an eco-friendly web hosting company which has all of its servers powered by windmills.

E4A: In what ways do you stress living an eco-friendly lifestyle outside of Greenview Marketing?

BR: I still follow the same everyday tactics like I have above but also added new methods to my lifestyle such as bringing shopping’s bags to the grocery store and using eco-friendly light bulbs in my apartment. My main goal is to continue routine activities that are eco-friendly but are not necessarily more work. It’s a matter of being mindful of what  you’re doing.

E4A: Have you found a connection between being “green” and catering to gay clientele?

BR: The main connection for me is that I have both qualities. But overall I would have to say that the gay population is always open to change. Being a part of the gay population, I also know that many of us are innovators and early adopters in the market and are the first to test out new products, tactics and ways. That’s the main correlation I have found which can simply be put as a high level of excitement to know only work with another gay man but that there is more to offer on top of that.

E4A: Give us some tips on how to lead eco-friendly lives without completely changing them!

BR: There are some easy tactics that one can follow that wouldn’t make your life any harder. The first is to keep reusable bags handy at home and/or at work; you can use those when you go grocery shopping or when you grab lunch at work. Another tip is if your next light bulb burns out, try buying eco-friendly ones that use less energy and are not that much more expensive.

E4A: Besides being gay yourself, what do you find interesting about the gay community from a business perspective?

BR: I think it’s great to be a part of such a unified community. I have found that the gay community supports each other and will always go the extra mile to help out another member in the community.

E4A: Where do you and your partner see your business 5 years from now? How about 10?

BR: In five years, I hope to have this company triple in size. Right now, my partner and I are the only ones representing this company. In five years it would be great to be able to employ others and work as a team to effectively execute award-winning advertising and public relation strategies and to also keep an eco-friendly train of thought as well. In ten years, I would say the same thing … only BIGGER!

E4A: When you guys have down time, do you still act in a “green” manner?

BR: I always act in a “green” manner because it has become so routine for me. I don’t see it as an annoying process but as a day-to-day process that I am used to.

-Interview conducted by Matt Scotto, edited by J. Federico

Photo Source

Leave a Reply

